Skip to main content

Come Learn With Us!

Drivers Ed. – It's the first of its kind. 

Roberson’s Turning Point Drivers Education

Program Description

In this course, each learner’s understanding of safe and responsible driving will be taught throughout the 33-hour State of Rhode Island approved curriculum. During these classes, learners will be taught high standard safe driving habits and the rules of the road for Rhode Island. The purpose of the course is to produce drivers who are knowledgeable, responsible, collision-free, capable of assessing and managing risk while preparing to take the first steps in earning their Rhode Island Drivers license!

Program Objectives

Program Goal 

The goal of this course to prepare novice drivers for the written test provided by Rhode Island’s Department of Motor Vehicles.

If you are registering for a Driver's Ed course, you are agreeing that you are at least 15 years and ten (10) months old by the start of class. 

 

Register Here!

Class #1:  October 1, 2018

Class #2:  October 6, 2018

Disclaimer:  You must be at least fifteen (15) years and ten (10) months of age to take a driver education class. 

Please bring legal proof of identification to the first day of class:  ex.: U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport


Program Outcomes

Through successful completion of this program, students will be able to… 

  • Understand Rhode Island licensing laws and the Anatomical Gift Act
  • Understand basic Rhode Island traffic laws and consequences of traffic law violation 
  • Understand the responsibilities of safely sharing the road with others
  • Recognize dangerous driving situations and how to avoid them
  • Discuss various driving risks and how to assess & manage them
  • Recognize the basic vehicle structure/anatomy; 
  • Understand safe operation, including but not limited to:
    •  Adjustments
    •  Starting, steering, stopping
    •  Basic maneuvers
    •  Loading & towing
  • Identify and discuss different driving conditions and hazards
  • Understand how to handle emergency driving situations
  • $85 plus the cost of the book

*How You Earn Your Two College Credits 

Standardized Credit Documentation Process

Upon successful completion of RWU Driver’s Education Program, a participant may be eligible to have the coursework transcribed for college credit. A successful participant must apply and be accepted to RWU SCS as a matriculating student and successfully complete one semester prior to the credit being transcribed.

Learn More 


Class #1:

On the last day of class, the class is extended until 7:30 to equal 33 hours total

Class #2

On the last day of class, the class is extended until 5 to equal 33 hours total. 

Through the year, the two classes will start again on the first Monday and Saturday of each month.

 

Disclaimer:  You must be at least fifteen (15) years and ten (10) months of age to take a driver education class. 

Please bring legal proof of identification on the first day of class:  ex.: U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport


Contact Us! 

Mariela O’Neill

Program Coordinator -  Email: moneill@rwu.edu - Phone: 401-254-5415